UNICEF's Chicago Humanitarian Awards Luncheon

October 23, 2015
The Chicago office of the U.S. Fund for UNICEF hosted its fifth annual Chicago Humanitarian Awards Luncheon at the Ritz-Carlton on Friday. The event celebrates UNICEF’s work to save and protect children around the globe, and honored two local humanitarians: Barbara Bowman, a founder of the Erikson Institute and the Irving B. Harris Professor of Child Development, and Keith Decker, one of the founders of La Casa Norte.
Attendees heard a keynote address from Susan Bissell, Director Ad Interim of the #ENDViolence Partnership at UNICEF. She discussed UNICEF’s belief that all children have the right to live free from violence, and highlighted UNICEF’s work with grassroots organizations and governments around the world to keep children safe and protected.  
“This event highlights the incredible work that UNICEF is doing all around the world to help children grow up safe, happy and healthy, while also honoring local heroes who make our city a better place. It’s wonderful to recognize great work being done on a global, and local scale,” said Casey Marsh, Managing Director – Midwest Region, U.S. Fund for UNICEF.
This year’s luncheon was at capacity, with more than 450 guests, and raised more than $110,000 for UNICEF’s lifesaving programs that put children first. In addition to a multi-course lunch, attendees had the opportunity to view offerings from UNICEF Market and UNICEF Inspired Gifts – thoughtful holiday gift options that save lives. 
Attendees were also given a first-hand look at the U.S. Fund for UNICEF’s newest initiative – UNICEF Kid Power, which gives kids the power to get active and save lives using the world’s first Wearable-For-Good. UNICEF Kid Power Bands are currently available for pre-sale at Target.com.
This year’s event chairs were Ilyce Glink Tamkin and Hilary Scott. Committee members included: Amy Brown, Lisa Fremont, Linda Havlin, Jonni Hegenderfer, John Luce, Cecelia Pikul, Ashley Prasad, Elizabeth Samuels, Susan Schmitt, Wendy Serrino, Susan Sholl, Debbie Smith and Jen Zaugh.
Special thanks to our sponsors of the luncheon: Ariel Investments, Satya and Archana Dharanipragada, Ilyce Glink and Sam Tamkin, Dolores Kohl, John and Doug Luce, Hilary and Sean Scott, Wendy and Frank Serrino.
Click HERE to view more photos from the event.