MNT - Endemic Countries

Donate Now

Countries Where Maternal and Neonatal Tetanus (MNT) Remains a Public Health Threat

In 1999, there were 57 countries where tetanus still posed a considerable risk for women giving birth. (The number rose to 59 with the independence of Timor-Leste in 2002 and South Sudan in 2011.) The figure today stands at 12.

Working with partners, UNICEF has immunized over 154 million women in 53 countries and has helped eliminate MNT in nearly 4 dozen countries, including Mozambique, China, Turkey, Sierra Leone, Burundi Liberia, and Laos. Recent successes include the elimination of MNT in Ethiopia, Haiti and the Philippines in 2017,  Kenya in 2018, Chad and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) in 2019.  

MNT has been eliminated in more than two-thirds of the countries that appeared on the list in 1999, but there is still much work to do to protect women, mothers and newborns from this deadly but easily preventable disease.

Today, MNT remains a public health threat in 12 countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Central African Republic
  • Guinea
  • Mali
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Yemen

Share on