UNICEF Message of Hope 2014

Supporters from across Chicagoland gathered at the seventh annual UNICEF’s Message of Hope Gala and third annual After Party on Friday, April 11th. Held at the Four Seasons Hotel Chicago, the evening brought together over 370 guests and raised a record breaking $1.19 million for UNICEF’s work through The Eliminate Project! This is the first time a Midwest event has ever raised more than $1 million for UNICEF’s work.

The event was part of a two-year Midwest campaign to raise $3 million for The Eliminate Project, a partnership between UNICEF and Kiwanis International to eliminate maternal and neonatal tetanus (MNT) from the face of the earth by 2015. The funds raised through Message of Hope will help to protect over 620,000 women and all of their future newborns against this painful disease.

  • Friday, April 11, 2014

    Cocktail Attire
  • 6:30 PM Reception
  • 7:30 PM Dinner & Program
  • 10:00 PM After Party

UNICEF Message of Hope Chairs


Gala Co-Chairs

  • Robert T. Brown
  • Carol Dawley
  • Linda Havlin
  • Wendy Serrino

After Party Chairs

  • Erin Guffey
  • Lisey Waters


For More Information



Please Contact:

  • Elisabeth Kasdorf-Torney • Senior Officer, Administrative Management and Special Events
  • U.S. Fund for UNICEF • 500 N. Michigan Avenue Suite 1000
  • Chicago, IL 60611
  • (312) 222-9121 • ekasdorf@unicefusa.org

UNICEF's Message of Hope Gala Planning Committee

  • Martha Borie Wood
Amy Brown

  • Bill Dietz

  • Lainie Freer

  • Mary Lou Giustini

  • James W. Kelly

  • Barbara Melcher
Martha Metz

  • Laura Myntti

  • Susan Noyes
David Otte

  • Larry Rogers, Jr.

  • Susan Sholl

  • Jill Thompson

  • Tina Trott

  • Ann Vogl

  • Kenneth Zaugh

Message of Hope Sponsors


Thank you to all of the UNICEF’s Message of Hope Gala 2014 sponsors. Below are our Business Innovator and Champion sponsors.
as of March, 2014

  • A.T. Kearney
  • Energy BBDO
  • GCM Grosvenor
  • Heartland Produce Co.
  • Hyatt Hotels & Resorts

  • Kirkland & Ellis LLP
  • Make It Better Media Tamara and Jay Dempsey
  • Bill and Cindee Dietz
  • Paul and Ty Harvey
  • Martha and Adam Metz

  • Alexandra and John Nichols
  • Wendy and Frank Serrino
  • Tina and Byron Trott
  • Jeff Ward and Dora Moore

UNICEF’s Next Generation Midwest Steering Committee

  • Adam Gifford, Chair
  • Victoria Berg
  • Lena Clement
  • Gary Cwik
  • Nev Fazlioski
  • Jeffrey Feste
    • Erin Guffey
    • Ben Hewitt
    • Kevin A. Houlihan
    • Ben Lurie
    • Nathan Miller
    • Kristen Pieszko
    • Jason Rotter
    • Cathryn Smeyers
    • Mike Spitz
    • Mark Staub
    • Lisey Waters
    • James Ziniel